'Silver Probe' anatomy prize celebrates 10th anniversary

Publication date
Thursday, 10 Dec 2020
Louis Szabo Silver Probe Anatomy Prize, 10th anniversary
Louis Szabo Silver Probe Anatomy Prize, 10th anniversary

In a 2010 anatomy class, a student enquired about the anatomy probe that Mr Louis Szabo, founding member of the ANU Medical School Anatomy Laboratory, used when teaching.

In case you’ve never seen one - a probe is a thin, long medical instrument mostly made of metal, the best made of silver. The silver probe is used during anatomy dissections.

The student, who was top of her anatomy class and an outstanding student tutor, wanted the probe as a souvenir to remind her of her teacher and the subject in which she excelled. The probe, however, had been with Mr Szabo for many years so he was reluctant to part with it.

The request, nevertheless, sparked an idea in Mr Szabo to provide an award that included a silver probe in its design and a cash prize to acknowledge and celebrate the most outstanding student who has shown continuing commitment to anatomy teaching and learning over their 4 years of study.

From that point forward the Louis Szabo ‘Silver Probe’ Anatomy Prize was borne.

This year, 2020, marks the 10th Anniversary of the award.  To celebrate this milestone, the ANU Medical School hosted a morning tea with Mr Szabo. At the gathering, Mr Szabo presented Acting Director, Professor Zsuzsoka Kecskes with an additional cheque for this year’s awardee taking the prize money to $1000, a commemorative plaque of the glass trophy with probe, and a framed photo of three key members of the original anatomy laboratory team. The plaque and photo will take pride-of-place in the anatomy laboratory that Mr Szabo was instrumental in building from 2004 until his retirement in 2014.

In attendance at the morning tea was former prize recipient (2015), Dr Aicee Calma, who was able to add her engraved name plate to the commemorative plaque. Others celebrating the milestone included Head of Anatomy and Chair of Medical Sciences, Associate Professor Krisztina Valter; Associate Lecturer, Ms Riemke Aggio-Bruce; Anatomy Services Specialist, Ms Hannah Lewis; Medical Science Laboratory Manager, Mr Francisco Sanchez; and second-year medical student and Anatomy Facility Assistant, Mr Lachlan Arthur.

The ANU Medical School is very grateful to Mr Szabo for his continued support of the prize.

Learn more about the prizes and scholarships available to medical students.